A to Z: ‘V’ is for VIRGINS BOWER

It’s April! That means it’s time for the ‘BLOGGING A to Z CHALLENGE’. Everyday this month (except Sunday) bloggers will be blogging to a theme, using different letter of the alphabet – running, of course, from A to Z.

I’m blogging about MEMORY GARDENS: botanical tributes to celebrate our loved ones. Most of my writing is about keeping memories alive, so a spring garden is a perfect match to celebrate loved ones memories. Come join us all month for 26 different posts about Memory Gardens … and then, maybe plant your own tribute to remember your own special person.

a2z_v

A to Z: ‘V’ is for VIRGINS BOWER

Ha! Bet it’s not what you thought when you saw this post, is it? I have to admit, I haven’t heard of this plant called Virgin’s Bower before I started researching symbolic meanings of plants. I’ve always known it as Clematis. But, hey, I needed a ‘V’ for the A to Z blog challenge, so this worked out well. A plant, even one as beautiful as this one, doesn’t even begin to make up for the loss of a child. And if you’ve lost a child, you certainly don’t need a plant in your memory garden to remember them by. They are with you in every moment, in every thought, in your every breath.

VIRGIN’S BOWER (Clematis) – Filial Love (Filial: referring to a son or daughter)

clematis

Common Name:                      VIRGIN’S BOWER

Botanical Name:                      Clematis

Height:                                    6’ – 25’, varies with species, generally 12’-15’

USDA Hardiness Zone:          Zones 4-8

Sun requirements:                   Roots need to be cool, tops in sun

Water Needs:                           Regular moisture

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stepheny Houghtlin
    Apr 25, 2014 @ 19:59:39

    One of my all time favorite plants. I grown them in my garden and am thankful that transplanting several Clematis when we moved worked. They are happily making their way up a trellis to take their place as a spectacular plant in any garden. I never knew they were also referred to as a Virgin’s Bower.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 26, 2014 @ 19:18:32

      Yes Stepheny, they are such a beautiful flower, aren’t they? This is one I haven’t grown yet. I’m looking for some to add to my memory garden this year, so this may be one that I add.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
