B: Blogging – Dead or Alive?

Is blogging dead or alive?

I’ve wondered about this as I’ve noticed that I rarely post on my WordPress blogs anymore.

MasterBlogging.com has some numbers which seem to prove that blogging is still alive and well.

Key Statistics

  • There are 600 million blogs among 1.9 billion websites worldwide in 2024.
  • These blogs produce 7.5 million blog posts daily.
  • Tumblr hosts the most blogs, with 518 million.
  • WordPress, the second most popular platform, has 60 million blogs.

Wow – that’s a lot of blogs and blog posts.

Being curious, I went to my own WordPress page to check some of my information. I knew I’d been blogging for a long time but didn’t remember when I started. I also knew that I had many WordPress blogs that I haven’t actively posted on for many years.

I first started blogging in 2012. Along the way, I’ve added new blogs as my interest veered through my writing journey. When I was collaborating on a book with my sister, Trail Angel Mama, of course I started a Trail Angel Mama blog. When I was trying to gear up interest in herbal things, Herb Thyme was born. Writers Zen was born when I was gathering affirmations about writing. Vintage Daze came to life for the historical fiction stories. Embracing Life Tribe for my inspirational blogs.

My goodness, as I scrolled through my list, I discovered that I have 17 WordPress blogs! Some haven’t been posted to since 2012, 2013, or 2015.

I find that I typically use my blogs as I’m writing a book, adding content to the books as I blog along.

One book I’ve been working on for – oh, about three years now – Calico Connections. I’m in an online writers group that post story snippets once a week to a word prompt. But participating in the group, I’ve been slowly but surely adding another 500 words to the story every week. Which means it’s taking me a looooooong time to get this book written. But at least this way I’m consistently adding some words to the manuscript every week.

And thank goodness for April, when the A to Z blog challenge rolls around. At least during April I get some good writing in. Since 2014 I’ve only missed two years in the annual blog challenge. Many of the years I’ve participated with more than one blog.

So thank you, A to Z, for having this challenge and helping me get some words written!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeff Salter
    Apr 02, 2024 @ 12:35:10

    Well, if I gauged it by traffic / comments alone, I’d have to conclude that blogs were dead. I know the traffic at my group blog — 4F1H — has dwindled each year since we started it in early 2011.
    I don’t know how you can keep up with multiple blogs. At two different points, I also participated in other weekly blogs… but it was really difficult to keep that going.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 02, 2024 @ 23:20:32

      Thanks for your comments Jeff.
      And I CAN’T keep up with the multiple blogs – which is why most of them area all inactive now LOL
      It is difficult sometimes juggling too many things.

      Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 02, 2024 @ 23:24:35

      And, alas, I have to raise my hand as a guilty party of not getting to 4F1H very often over the past year or two to read either.
      Going to to remedy that right now!

      Reply

  2. suesconsideredtrifles
    Apr 02, 2024 @ 13:00:36

    I also started blogging in 2012 and have 3 blogs, but only post to two of them. You’ve found some interesting statistics, Trisha. https://suestrifles.wordpress.com/2024/04/02/ballade-atozchallenge/

    Reply

  3. eschudel
    Apr 02, 2024 @ 13:22:34

    Oh, I think blogging is still chugging along…

    Reply

  4. Susanne Matthews
    Apr 02, 2024 @ 14:57:04

    As someone who participates in that regular weekly blog with you, I can attast to the fact that adding words to the story each week gets the job done, but it does take time. I enjoy the challenge of it as I do the A to Z blog each April.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 02, 2024 @ 23:15:27

      Thanks Susanne. And yes, sometimes without that Monday push, I wouldn’t even get the 500 words written. I have to credit Tuesday Tales with a lot!

      Reply

  5. Jeanne Bryan Insalaco
    Apr 07, 2024 @ 01:53:12

    Yes I have a few different blogs but mainly I write on one. I’m writing on my DNA for this A to Z

    Reply

  6. Wild Rose Quilter
    Apr 08, 2024 @ 01:11:18

    I am just starting back to blogging after a 4 year hiatus. I find myself missing it. Will see how it goes…

    Reply

Leave a comment

April 2024
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Past blogs