Ten O’Clock Scholar – cry

In Ten O’Clock Scholar, Peggy, a mother of two young boys, decides to go back to college for her Interior Design degree. The only problem with her plan is a reluctant husband. In this snippet, we jump ahead in the story to Peggy’s first day of class.

This week we’re writing to the prompt ‘cry.’

Enjoy this week’s story snippet, then return to Tuesday Tales for more delightful tales from other talented authors.

tt_banner

Once she was away from a clingy youngster and the confusion of getting two boys dressed and to Mary’s house, Peggy felt the stressed feelings peeling away like layers of an onion. With each mile getting closer to the campus, she felt her excitement rise. Even Derek’s sour mood over the past week couldn’t dim her enthusiasm. Feelings of pride and accomplishment over this huge step in her life swelled in her and caused her to set up straight in the driver’s seat.

Empowered was the word that came to her mind. After all the years of submitting to Derek’s desires and wishes, for once she was taking action towards something that would expand and enhance her life.

TT studentsPeggy’s feeling of pride deflated as soon as she rounded the corner and saw the line of barely-twenty-somethings waiting to enter the classroom. The students – mostly girls, but not all – giggled and twittered in their clustered groups. Most wore skimpy clothes that revealed a lot of abdomen and back – certainly far more than Peggy was willing to display of her post-two-children body. She caught herself as a brief moment of wanting to cry passed through her.

They will not make me feel old.

I will not allow myself to be intimidated by these youngsters.

I have every right to be in a classroom learning too.

I am not too old for this!

The thoughts ran in a jumble through her brain as she tried to banish the unworthy feelings and tried to gear her thoughts towards a positive mindset.

She stood in line, leaning up against the brick wall, feeling too timid to speak to anyone around her. Two more girls, looking just barely out of high school fell into place behind her, chattering away to each other as if they were lifelong friends. Another lady joined the line and Peggy sighed with relief when she saw the short gray hair and wire rimmed glasses.

Whew! Someone older than me. At least I’m not the oldest woman in class now.

She smiled at the newcomer over the heads of the youngsters between them, but wasn’t prepared for the reaction she received.

Return to TUESDAY TALES to read more delicious story snippets.

Return to my WEB SITE here.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mhsusannematthews
    May 02, 2017 @ 12:49:04

    Wow. I can certainly identify with today’s scene. My first day at teachers’ college was just like that. There I was, 30 with 3 kids, and most of them had barely turned 21. Great scene.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      May 02, 2017 @ 23:02:10

      That’s where I was Susanne. I started back a month before my 2nd was born. I was 30 and felt soooo old. But this past year, my friend started back at 43 with a 3 yo. My conversations with her & what she was experiencing brought this story to its beginning.
      You know even more then about trying to get homework and assignments done while caring for children and a household!

      Reply

  2. Author
    May 02, 2017 @ 15:40:02

    Love the way you captured her nervousness. AND you left us hanging….. Tease!! Jllian

    Reply

  3. jeanjoachim
    May 02, 2017 @ 19:40:56

    OMG! What a cliffhanger! Now I HAVE to know what her reaction was. You painted the scene beautifully. I could feel her anguish. Well done.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      May 02, 2017 @ 22:57:36

      Thanks, Jean! And…hmmmm… just where did I learn about cliffhangers?? You and my other Tuesday Tales cohorts wouldn’t be guilty of teaching me that bad habit, would you?

      Reply

  4. raimeygallant
    May 03, 2017 @ 17:51:51

    I can identify with going back to school as a mature student. I did it at the age of 28, and that doesn’t seem old to me, but I was by far the oldest in my classes. Relating to the others was difficult.

    Reply

  5. Rhonda Strong Gilmour
    May 03, 2017 @ 21:38:10

    I hope your protag quickly gets over her obsession with age and gets down to business.

    Reply

  6. Vicki Locey
    May 04, 2017 @ 21:50:51

    What a wonderful snippet!

    Reply

  7. Flossie Benton Rogers
    May 08, 2017 @ 03:24:21

    I know exactly how she feels being in that room of youngsters. I’m loving following this story.

    Reply

  8. Tricia Andersen
    May 08, 2017 @ 17:51:01

    No! What did the newcomer do? I felt as nervous as she did. Great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2017
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
