June issue of Back Story

Here’s the June newsletter, Back Story. Depression Glass is the featured topic this month.

There’s also a snippet from Fat and Sassy, my book due out July 15th.

You can see the entire newsletter here: JUNE BACK STORY.

To sign up and get this delivered to your inbox each month, sign up here: BACK STORY SIGN UP. Next month we’ll feature amazing women from the past.

Here’s a bit from the newsletter.

One afternoon I stopped into my favorite thrift store to browse through their books. With books for fifty cents, I can read most of the year for what I’d spend on one or two books at the bookstore.

I don’t usually shop around much. Goodness knows, I need to downsize my collections of ‘stuff’, not buy more. But this one day they had a display of green glass set up in the window right next to the books. Most of the glass was your average inexpensive (cheap) glassware – lots of mass produced, green vases. But one small dish stood out. I thought, that’s Depression glass. So I picked this little goodie up instead of buying books that day.

This darker avocado green compote is from Imperial Glass. It’s in the Larian pattern, with basket and swags, but is not as old as the original Depression glass in that pattern. It was most likely produced in the 1950’s or 1960’s, which still makes it over fifty to sixty years old, and is a nice vintage find. (Wait a minute…that’s how old I am. Somehow for glassware that sounds old, but for me that seems awfully young still.)

depression glass dish1

depression glass dish2.jpg

depression glass larain
Larain Basket pattern, made by Indiana from 1929 – 1932

I found several other identical pieces on Etsy and Ebay. Prices were currently going in the range of $8 to $15. That makes me pretty happy with my $2.99 thrift store treasure.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheryl
    Jun 12, 2016 @ 20:19:54

    Great finds! I love depression glass. It’s so bright and cheery.

    Reply

  2. Neat Habitat
    Jun 14, 2016 @ 22:06:53

    Hi!!
    First off thank you so much for being such an avid follower of my blog!
    I just wanted to let you know that I have moved over my content to neathabitat.com instead of the old address of neathabitat.wordpress.com.
    By doing that, my posts no longer show up in the reader like they used to which is a bummer!
    However you still want to be part of the conversation in my posts (which I sure hope you do!), you will need to make sure your email is subscribed to my blog at neathabitat.com, so when I post something new, you get alerted of it!
    It has definitely been quiet since I made the switch over, so I am getting in contact with my loyal followers to let them know of the switch over!
    All the best, and hope to see you on neathabitat.com 🙂

    Reply

  3. Flossie Benton Rogers
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 04:17:50

    Gorgeous. Love the bottom green one in particular.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2016
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
