Y: Yoga

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

Y: YOGA

yoga4

Yoga has moved from the woowoo realm of mystics and spirituality to mainstream America. Many small cities have private yoga studios now, even here in Texas, land of the cowboy and Long Horn steer.

I practiced yoga for several years and enjoyed it immensely. I felt more peaceful, flexible and connected with my body and inner spirit.

yoga1.jpg

The calm, meditative aspect of yoga is tremendous to combat stress and stress related issues. But besides the stress relief benefits, there are a host of other health benefits that yoga provides.

Yoga Journal has an article, 38 Health Benefits of Yoga, that discusses these benefits. See their article for more in depth information. Here’s a sampling of a few of the ways yoga can improve your life and your health.

  • Improves your flexibility
  • Builds muscle strength
  • Increases your blood flow
  • Drains your lymphs and boosts immunity
  • Lowers blood sugar
  • Relaxes your system
  • Helps you sleep deeper
  • Gives you inner strength
  • Keeps allergies and viruses at bay
  • Supports your connective tissue

See you in a bit! I’m off to dust off my neglected book of poses to see if I can restart my yoga time.

yoga2

yoga3

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Scott
    Apr 29, 2016 @ 17:32:56

    My late mother was a yoga teacher par excellence. I could tell stories!!! So great that it’s finally moved into mainstream. Lovely post and reminder thanks Trisha! 😄

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 30, 2016 @ 16:37:36

      I’ll bet you could, Susan! I know, when I moved here to northern Texas, from southern California, I didn’t expect that yoga would be so popular here too. Studios all over!

      Reply

  2. stephrichmond
    Apr 29, 2016 @ 21:10:39

    I’ve always fancied doing yoga, what’s the best way to start?

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 29, 2016 @ 23:56:00

      I found that I got most out of it when I started with a class through my city’s recreation program. Many yoga studios are around with classes, bur they’re a little pricier to join. For me it was best to be in a group & learn with an instructor leading. There are many good tapes & videos out too. Many books also, but I think the books are harder to start with.
      — My goodness! I just went to You Tube and put in ‘Yoga for Beginners’. Over a million hits! Here’s a link to just one. Then you can try out at home with no cost and see if you like it.

      Reply

  3. Miriam
    Apr 30, 2016 @ 19:01:08

    My dancing partner, who is well over 80, does yoga. He’s very flexible for his age.

    Reply

  4. Cherrie Ali
    May 05, 2016 @ 04:39:07

    I’m a weirdo. I hated Yoga classes, but I love doing it on the Wii. I like getting the feedback and knowing I’m in the correct position by seeing my center on the screen. And it’s so great to see my upper body strength improving.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A to Z

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
