X: X-ercise to Relieve Stress

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

X: X-ERCISE

Yes, I’m fudging in looking for an ‘X’ word for the A to Z Blog Challenge.

Exercise is an important component of combating stress, something that far too many of us find in our lives. And no, it doesn’t have to be a life consuming, five days a week at the gym, working towards next triathlon exercise. A simple walk around the block (with your spouse or the family dog is even better), or even dancing around the house while you clean or cook dinner, will give you stress-reducing benefits.

The Mayo Clinic has this to say about exercise and stress:

Virtually any form of exercise, from aerobics to yoga, can act as a stress reliever. If you’re not an athlete or even if you’re out of shape, you can still make a little exercise go a long way toward stress management. Discover the connection between exercise and stress relief — and why exercise should be part of your stress management plan.

Exercise and stress relief

Exercise increases your overall health and your sense of well-being, which puts more pep in your step every day. But exercise also has some direct stress-busting benefits.

It pumps up your endorphins. Physical activity helps bump up the production of your brain’s feel-good neurotransmitters, called endorphins. Although this function is often referred to as a runner’s high, a rousing game of tennis or a nature hike also can contribute to this same feeling.

It’s meditation in motion. After a fast-paced game of racquetball or several laps in the pool, you’ll often find that you’ve forgotten the day’s irritations and concentrated only on your body’s movements.

As you begin to regularly shed your daily tensions through movement and physical activity, you may find that this focus on a single task, and the resulting energy and optimism, can help you remain calm and clear in everything you do.

It improves your mood. Regular exercise can increase self-confidence, it can relax you, and it can lower the symptoms associated with mild depression and anxiety. Exercise can also improve your sleep, which is often disrupted by stress, depression and anxiety. All of these exercise benefits can ease your stress levels and give you a sense of command over your body and your life.

Have you ever used exercise to alleviate stress in your life? Do you have a favorite exercise activity that you like?

exercise benefits.jpg

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Scott
    Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:27:13

    Lovely reminder Trisha thank you. I’m looking forward to an afternoon walk later on. I love walking and wondering, letting go of any other stuff for the moment/s.

    Reply

  2. Archana (@yenforblue)
    Apr 28, 2016 @ 16:00:09

    We exercise regularly, and can attest to the advantages you have listed! Exercising can be ‘áddictive’!! The alphabet X is always a challenge but you have done a good job! 🙂

    Reply

  3. stephie5741
    Apr 28, 2016 @ 17:32:01

    I’ve thought about trying yoga, but I’ve read a lot of information on it–and it looks like it doesn’t have as much benefit for calorie burning as aerobic exercise, so I’m sticking with walking for now.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 28, 2016 @ 20:53:00

      I did yoga for several years. I haven’t since I’m moved to Texas. I love it. (Actually that’s the Y letter for tomorrow lol) It’s calming, soothing, relaxing…just wonderful. But you’re right, doesn’t burn near as many calories as aerobic excercise.
      Have a great day!

      Reply

  4. miladyronel
    Apr 29, 2016 @ 04:00:11

    I like to mix things up a little. When I’m trying to catch up on TV shows that either have implausible plots (yet so addictive) or something everyone’s watching and I want to stay part of the conversation even if the story isn’t exactly my fave, I’ll punish myself and the stationary bike – pedalling faster at least affords the illusion of time going by quickly 😉 Walks that turn into runs with my Rotties in the afternoons are always relaxing – and so are swims with them in the summer 🙂 Tae Bo allows me to punch the face of a character that annoyed me all day, all week or all month. Yoga stretches out all of my muscles, helps with mindfulness and breathing throughout relaxes me entirely 🙂 Now if only I was able to fit it all into one day instead of varying it throughout the week…

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 29, 2016 @ 05:06:32

      I love the variety of exercise that you incorporate into your life. Awesome!
      I haven’t tried Tae Bo. Do you like it?

      Reply

      • miladyronel
        Apr 30, 2016 @ 02:56:20

        Yes. I get such a rush when I’m done, and it only takes about 30 min or so. Though the only way I sometimes get through the non-stop punching sequences is to imagine I’m actually hitting someone who has irritated the hell out of me 😉

  5. IowaMeetsMaui
    Apr 30, 2016 @ 16:36:10

    I find exercise (the walking kind, not the running kind) is helpful to reduce anxiety. Stress and anxiety seem to go hand in hand. I just need to carve out more time for the walking and sweating!

    Reply

  6. Miriam
    Apr 30, 2016 @ 18:58:35

    Most people fudge X in some way and what better way to do it than with exercise! I love folk dancing. I also walk a lot.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 30, 2016 @ 19:09:45

      Yes, Miriam, I’ve seen lots of creative ways to get an X post. (I think we have to) Folk dancing sounds like fun. When I was younger I practiced belly dance for many years. I wanted to try clogging for awhile, but never did. I probably walk more than anything.
      I did get a hula hoop a few years ago. It’s still hanging on the wall though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
