S: SET IN YOUR CAR AND YELL

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

S: SET IN YOUR CAR AND YELL

It works. It’s a stress reducing technique. Although, it’s not one that I’d recommend you indulge in too often.

However, one afternoon it was mighty useful for me.

I left work, angrier and more upset than I had ever, ever been. I was at my limit. The next step was probably mayhem and murder, and I didn’t want it to get that far. I pulled out of the parking lot onto the street. I made it through the red light, as I didn’t want the other driver’s to see a lunatic sitting in the car next to them, screaming. As I went through the intersection (and now had no driver’s to either side of me) I began yelling at the top of my lungs. I don’t think I’ve ever screeched so loud or so long.

About a mile down the road I went, until I had to turn for the construction detour. I gave a big sigh, my shoulders sagged in relief and…I was done. I felt immensely better. It was the pressure valve that I needed at that moment.

Of course, when I got home I could scarcely talk. (My spouse didn’t mind that part of it.) And the next day, my throat was still slightly tender, just enough to remind me of my escapades the afternoon before.

But…I made it through the day without murdering my manager, thanks to a few moments of uncharacteristic, insane behavior. Because of my yelling in the car incident, we both lived to see another day.

yelling

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mhsusannematthews
    Apr 22, 2016 @ 15:39:07

    lol I’ve done this, but I’ve usually had passengers onboard.

    Reply

  2. Jen Seriously
    Apr 22, 2016 @ 19:24:55

    Yes, sometimes you really do just have to yell. It feels good. And yelling into your pillow is not the same as letting it really out there.

    Reply

  3. Deb
    Apr 22, 2016 @ 19:32:02

    I do this so often I feel like I should just buy a yelling pillow and stuff it in my handbag. Very liberating.:-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A to Z

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
