K: Karma Helps Me Cope

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

K: Karma Helps Me Cope

The Tree of Awakening defines karma as this:

“The definition of karma? For every action there will always be a reaction. Your thoughts and actions are powerful. They carry energy. They are like an echo. We have all taken a different path in life but somehow we are all linked. Whatever you do will always come back to you.

Your thoughts and feelings shape the world within you. Your words and actions shape the world around you. You are constantly changing your world, little by little.”

So, what does that have to do with work, customer service, or an ‘Every Day’s a Good Day’ attitude?

Some days believing in karma, or in what goes around comes around, is one coping mechanism that can get us through the day sanely.

At my last job, before I quit to write full time, there was a coworker that drove me batty. You always see lots of customer related gripes in the retail world, but sometimes it’s not the customers, it’s the co-workers that make your life miserable.

In the interest of anonymity, I’ll call him Troy, although that’s not his real name. He was just flat, dab dangerous to work with. Always hopped up on far too many Monster drinks, he sped about the store in full speed. It didn’t matter if he was walking, pulling a flat bed, or pushing a dolly full of merchandise. He ran at breakneck speed…and didn’t look to see who he was about ready to mow over.

He was also a very volatile person and flew off the handle at the merest wrong glance. Just about everyone at work had been the recipient of Troy’s fury at one point or another. Some people more than once.

And naturally, Troy was always the person in the right. It was everyone else that was wrong.

When we were all unpacking in the stockroom one day, and I got hit in the face with a flying box, that was just about my breaking point with Troy. It wasn’t a small box, it was one that was two to three feet wide and tall. Big boxes. But it didn’t matter to Troy. Troy was on a mission, to get done as quickly as possible, and just threw empty boxes with abandon – never looking to see if anyone was in the way or not. When I discovered that my crystal earring was missing – hours later and after the floor had already been swept up – as a result of the box in the face incident…I was even more unhappy. No. Unhappy is too mild for what I was feeling.

But, because trying to confront Troy about anything stirred incidents up to past the boiling point, I bit my tongue and vowed to stay far away from the Tasmanian Devil. From that point on, when we all had to go back and unpack, I checked where Troy was and went to the opposite end of the stockroom. If Troy worked on one aisle, I went to another.

And what got me through was the hope of karma. While I knew that speaking up would only incite the situation to something worse, and that nothing would change anyway (because it never had, even with all the other confrontations with other employees), I decided to take the road that brought me more peace. I stayed as far away as possible, avoided all the personal interaction with this coworker that I could…and kept telling myself, ‘What goes around, comes around. Someday Troy will reap his own karma.’

It hasn’t happened yet. Over a year later I hear that Troy is still employed. How? I simply wonder. And I realize that we won’t always see whether someone reaps the consequences of their actions. That’s their path and theirs alone. I’m sure there are people sitting back waiting to see if I get my own karma returned to me for what they see as something I’ve done wrong.

I’m responsible for me and my actions. Troy is accountable for his actions. And that little ray of hope, of the satisfaction of karma, keeps me going through other challenging situations, whether they are work related or personal.

karma.jpg

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gail M Baugniet
    Apr 13, 2016 @ 22:41:12

    People’s actions do catch up with them one or another. Often it is best to let a situation ride until someone or something takes care of a negative issue, But when someone is a danger to others it doesn’t hurt to intervene to speed up that person’s inevitable date with karma.

    Gail’s 2016 April A to Z Challenge
    Theme: The Fun in Writing #218

    Reply

  2. miladyronel
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 03:33:15

    Great post 🙂 Troy sounds like quite a character… could be fun to write about him and show karma in practice 😉

    Reply

  3. Miriam
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 06:31:13

    So karma is instead of taking revenge? You wait for something to happen? What about taking positive action? Not that I think it would work on Troy!

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 14, 2016 @ 14:25:21

      You’re right Miriam. With Troy it wouldn’t work. I’d already seen countless others try to deal with him directly and have seen what happened when they went to management about him.
      But you’re right, there are other instances where taking positive action is definitely warranted.

      Reply

  4. Susan Scott
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 11:15:20

    Karma is powerful and it is our own best interests to keep this in mind always. Great post Lori thank you … I agree we never know about another’s karma and this is as it should be. Poor old Troy – he can’t be a happy person being so volatile and all those Monster drinks! Sorry about your crystal earring – does he know that he was the cause of this loss?

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 14, 2016 @ 14:08:09

      Thanks Susan. As to the earring, yes, I mentioned it…and got a big shoulder shrug. Ah well. All I can do now is be thankful that I don’t work there anymore and don’t have to deal with him five days a week!
      Have a great day!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
