G: Goals to Get You Through

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

G: GOALS TO GET YOU THROUGH

Are you having trouble dragging yourself to work? Do you dread the shift ahead of you, knowing that rude customers, lazy coworkers or an unrealistic work load is in your future?

Sometimes a key piece to surviving your next shift with a smile…the next week…the next month…is to have some goals that help get you through the difficult periods.

Is there a vacation coming up? Thinking of a fun week away in the next month or two can give you a pleasurable moment ahead to look forward to. It also helps justify where you are and what you’re doing. The next three paychecks will get me to Jamaica. Or Disneyland. Or to the camping spot in the woods.

The goal might be something further off in the future. Two more years and I can retire. One more year and I’ll have enough to ________ (fill in the blank). One more year and I’ll have enough for the down payment on a new home. A new car. An addition or renovation. We usually have something that we’re striving for, and having a job gives us the means to achieve that goal. Even if it does take us longer than we’d like. Use that inspiration to keep a smile on your face and maybe you will even end up whistling while you work.

If all else fails, and these larger goals are too far away to help right now, set your own shorter term goal. If I get through this week without biting a co-workers head off…I’ll treat myself to that steak dinner Friday night.

Sometimes that bright spot in the future is what gets us through a few dreary days. It’s all in a change of perspective. Just shifting our focus can help make every day a good day.

What goals do you have in the future? How can thinking of that goal help get you through the next week?

goals

 

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fimnora Westcaw
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 21:13:14

    Hey there. I’m thinking that your helpful advice works no matter if your job is outside the home, or in the home. Either way, it’s a WIN/WIN situation 🙂

    The thing about happenstance is it brings one on some alt uni adventures when least expected. I was checking out a blog on the A to Z Challenge route, and found that there is a whole side challenge of check out others challenges on a Bonus circuit. So I hopped on that causeway and found myself here!
    Great fun seen here.

    Fim of Quantum Hermit: https://fimnorawestcaw.wordpress.com

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 09, 2016 @ 05:22:22

      That’s true. I hadn’t thought of it that way, but you’re right.
      That’s great about the challenges and bonus circuit. I hadn’t heard of that. A to Z has really grown over the past few years.

      Reply

      • Fimnora Westcaw
        Apr 09, 2016 @ 21:03:48

        This is my first year, but I was aware of it last year, only signed up one day too late. Really glad I’m here not, though. It’s giving renewed life to my blogging.

        Nice to meet you 🙂

        Fim

      • trishafaye
        Apr 09, 2016 @ 23:55:40

        Sometimes we all work better with a little nudge, don’t we? I know that I do. Nudges and deadlines, they keep me on track.

  2. Liz A.
    Apr 09, 2016 @ 00:54:17

    My goal for today is to finish all my A to Z comments and then perhaps to work a little on my novel. I’ve been plugging away on that for years.

    Reply

  3. Shilpa Garg
    Apr 09, 2016 @ 12:17:08

    When I write my goals on paper, they give more clarity and focus. I love the satisfaction of ticking the daily goals of the day. Thanks for sharing a thought provoking post, Trisha.
    I am visiting from the A to Z Challenge Co-host’s Team. Hope you are having a great time reading, writing and networking with co-participants of the A to Z Challenge. Cheers 🙂
    Co-Host AJ’s wHooligan for the A to Z Challenge 2016

    Reply

  4. Miriam
    Apr 09, 2016 @ 13:05:47

    Now that I enjoy what I’m doing, I don’t need goals to get me through the week!

    Reply

  5. EM Biddulph
    Apr 09, 2016 @ 14:05:19

    Great advice! I think I do this, in small ways, in my general life already, but not with as much a view to the ‘bigger picture’. It makes a lot of sense, and I love the positivity and motivation that it promotes.

    This year, I’ve tried to make more of an effort to set specific goals (and deadlines!) for my writing projects, and – so far – it seems to be working well. 🙂

    Thanks for the gentle reminder, and helpful advice!

    Best Wishes,

    Emma

    http://www.embiddulph.com

    Reply

  6. Jayanthi
    Apr 10, 2016 @ 11:34:40

    Goals are important to keep one going. But sometimes when life deals you some unfathomable cards it makes sense to sit back reflect and go with the flow.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 10, 2016 @ 15:39:11

      That’s true! And depending on what the upset is, it can be a period of a few days – or sometimes weeks or months – that you need to regain your balance and peace. My friend is undergoing something right now in her marriage that has her reeling and it will take her quite a long time before she’s able to look forward with excitement again.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  7. Patricia Tilton
    Apr 10, 2016 @ 16:29:06

    Interesting post. I think I was more goal-oriented when I was younger. Now, I’m more focused on being present and know tomorrow will be hear soon enough.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 10, 2016 @ 18:22:54

      So true Patricia. Sometimes we can often spend so much time looking to the future that we forget to enjoy and celebrate today.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

A to Z

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
