F: Food (Healthy Snacks)

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

F: FOOD (HEALTHY SNACKS)

Something I learned with working retail for many years, and trying to remain sane every day, was that healthy snacks greatly influenced my ability to remain calm in the face of fury and stupidity. Now don’t get me wrong, I really believe that chocolate and a daily Vanilla Coke are two of the five major food groups. But if I anticipated a stressful, harried day, I stocked up on healthier choices that didn’t send my sugar levels racing all over the board. There was a noticeable difference in my energy levels, my attitude and my reactions on the days that I ate healthier.

Here’s a few healthy snacks to keep you going and will help have a smile on your face at the end of the day.

  • Fresh Fruits or Vegetables
  • Dried Fruits, such as banana chips or dried cranberries
  • Fruit and cottage cheese
  • Greek yoghurt
  • Peanut butter
  • Cheese
  • Nuts
  • Popcorn with parmesan topping
  • Oatmeal and raisins

For some more ideas, here’s ten healthy picks that nutritionists snack on at lunch.

Here’s more ideas for Healthy Snack Ideas, with lots of great recipes and nutritional advice.

fruit

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lori Carlson
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 12:13:17

    I would definitely go for the nuts and veggies.. even the small amounts of natural sugars in the fruit would still topple me on a stressful day. Me and sugar just don’t get along 😦 Great post!
    Many Blessings,
    Lori

    My A2Zs @ As the Fates Would Have It & Promptly Written
    Follow Me (Ravyne) Twitter|Facebook

    Reply

  2. mhsusannematthews
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 13:04:07

    Great post again. Good to remind people that snacking can be healthy. Because of allergies no nuts or peanut butter for me, but low fat cheese is a good source of protein.

    Reply

  3. Kade's mom
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 05:45:10

    Thank you for the great reminders! I look forward to trying some of your snack ideas.

    – Jenny
    http://heworeflannel.com/

    Reply

  4. Cheryl Wright
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 11:22:43

    I really have to start eating better. Thank you for the list of healthy snacks.

    Cheryl
    Plucking Of My Heartstrings

    Reply

  5. Annette
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 14:25:11

    Visiting you today via list and bonus challenge. Like what I have seen. Now following!

    Reply

  6. Catherine
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 16:43:14

    Major food groups : coffee and maple syrup. Yeah.
    I love soybeans butter for snacks (peanut allergy in the house, he’s fine with me eating the soybeans butter) and greek yogurt based smoothies. I keep the cheese for dessert, so not really a snack!
    Thanks for the list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A to Z

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
