My Wildest Dream – TT picture prompt

TT_bannerIt’s November, which means National Novel Writing Month, so for Tuesday Tales this month I’m jumping to another WIP, My Wildest Dreams. This tale follows the prequel, A Second Chance, where Jenny survived Sudden Cardiac Arrest and desired to honor her second chance by living an authentic life. She decided she wanted to own her own herb and garden store. Join us as we catch glimpse of her here as she follows her wildest dream, with the help of her best friend Carla.

This week we’re writing to a picture prompt, one of two selections: a country barn scene, or a roaring fireplace. I chose the barn as Jenny and Carla are on their way to a llama ranch. Return to Tuesday Tales here, to read the other snippets from talented writers.

*******************

TT_December 2015 picture prompt

Carla rushed into the shop, her long, still wet hair streaming behind her. “Sorry, I’m running late.” She halted halfway to the counter. “You ready to go?”

“I’m ready. But Dillon’s not here yet.”

“Call him,” Carla suggested.

“I did. Twice. I’ll try again.” I pulled my phone from my back pocket and pressed his name on my screen. When the call went to voice mail – again – I tapped end call and dropped the phone on the counter in disgust. “I should have known not to trust leaving him here on a Saturday by himself,” I muttered.

Dillon came bursting through the side door like a cyclone, with words flowing out in a flurry. “I’m sorry I’m late…flat tire…left my phone at home…couldn’t call…”

“It is what it is,” I told him. “You’re here now.”

“As long as the ladies don’t ask me how to make anything. I can’t help them with girly requests.”

I smiled, thinking about how slow business had been since I opened. “If anything comes up, call me.”

We headed out for the llama ranch, leaving Dillon in charge of the herb store for the day.

The directions weren’t complicated. There were turns here and there as we traveled the farm to market roads the back way to Ponder. The rural scenery was green and lush as the intense summer heat settled into north Texas yet. I enjoyed seeing the verdant farmland.

Traveling down what I thought was the correct road, the asphalt ended and a dirt drive pointed the way to a red barn setting in the midst of towering post oaks. But…no cars. No signage. No obvious pasture land.

I eased to a stop and turned to Carla. “You see any llamas around? Did I miss a turn somewhere?”

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Iris B
    Dec 01, 2015 @ 10:15:45

    Ok … i wonder where they’ve ended up. And i like dillon ☺

    Reply

  2. jeanjoachim
    Dec 01, 2015 @ 12:31:12

    Lost by the barn? Hmm, is this the cue for a handsome stranger to amble their way? I like Dillon, too. Girly stuff, lol. Very boyish and cute. Well done!

    Reply

  3. Author
    Dec 01, 2015 @ 18:02:14

    Loving the line about not seeing any Llamas. 🙂 I can relate to Dillon. I am always forgetting my phone. LOL. Jillian

    Reply

  4. Vicki Locey
    Dec 01, 2015 @ 21:28:31

    Great line about not seeing any llamas!

    Reply

  5. Flossie Benton Rogers
    Dec 01, 2015 @ 22:45:57

    Oh dear, where are those llamas? The verdant countryside is a wonderful touch.

    Reply

  6. Sarah Cass
    Dec 02, 2015 @ 18:54:45

    Great scene! I wonder where they did end up…and how it will impact the story. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Joselyn
    Dec 07, 2015 @ 15:03:58

    Oh, I hate being late and lost!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
