My Wildest Dream – Tuesday Tales ‘cup’

TT_bannerIt’s November, which means National Novel Writing Month, so for Tuesday Tales this month I’m jumping to another WIP, My Wildest Dreams. This tale follows the prequel, A Second Chance, where Jenny survived Sudden Cardiac Arrest and desired to honor her second chance by living an authentic life. She decided she wanted to own her own herb and garden store. Join us as we catch glimpse of her here as she follows her wildest dream, with the help of her best friend Carla.

This week we’re writing to the prompt ‘cup. Return to Tuesday Tales here, to read the other snippets from talented writers.

*******************

There we were, driving up 377 towards Denton, a route we’d taken so many times together. Chattering a mile a minute, we were catching up after the horrid retail time was behind us. On a cold January day, there’s not much sightseeing to be doing in this area. The scenery looks much the same. Dead and bleak.

Before I knew what was happening, Carla pulled the car onto the shoulder and almost screeched to a stop.

“What’s wrong?” All sorts of imaginings raced through my mind. Flat tire. Overheated. Hurt animal on the side of the road.

“The old bank building!”

“The brick one?” Which other one could it be? There was only one old bank building in Argyle, the brick one sitting on a corner, a relic of the past. We’d both admired it every time we drove through this area. It always sat empty and neglected, looking forlorn as if no one loved it anymore.

argyle bank“There’s a ‘For Rent’ sign on it.” Carla was already opening the door and sticking a leg out.

I joined her behind the car and we hiked back to the corner. She was right. A huge sign hung in the large window. ‘For Rent’ with a number. I patted my pockets. Of course, no pen and paper. I debated about jogging back to the car to grab one out of my purse, until I remembered the cell phone in my pocket. I quickly snapped a picture of the sign.

“There. Now I have the number.”

I don’t think Carla heard me. She was already up by the building, peering in the other window.

My mind was whirling with the possibilities over an old historic building like this. And I hadn’t even seen inside yet. I’d be in heaven if I could have my business here.

One problem existed. “Except, there’s no space for gardens.”

“But the old bank…”

“I know. It would be great. But I need to have plants growing too.”

“Look at the huge lot on the side though. Maybe some of that is part of the property.”

“Maybe.” She was right. The bank was flanked by a large open field on one side. The back side had a dilapidated asphalt area that appeared to have been a parking lot at some previous point in time. It would be necessary as there were only spaces for about three cars on the front street side of the building.

The area on the side street didn’t have any parking. A deep gulley run alongside the building. Hopefully it was adequate to carry heavy rain waters away and keep them from flooding the building. I thought about it as if I were already a tenant here.

Pretty presumptuous, Jenny. You haven’t even called about it yet and you’re already making plans for having a business here.

The field and the area behind the old brick building might come with the rental. They might not. There was only one way to find out. Of course, dialing the number on a Sunday afternoon only got me to voice mail. I left a message and crossed my fingers.

I walked up to the doors, set in the angled corner of the building as was so common then. Cupping my hands around my face, I tried to see through the dusty window. Not much existed inside. I could barely make out the empty shell of a large ‘L’ shaped space. Directly across from the front door, there appeared to be an interior room with a large, ornate door going into it.

argyle bank vault“Hey Carla. C’mere. Is that the vault back there?”

She reappeared from wherever she’d been exploring and looked it. “Yeppers. Looks like it. It’s so dark it’s hard to tell. But when I worked for the newspaper that was located in the old bank building in Roanoke…years ago…that’s about where their old vault was.”

“Wish they said how much the rent was on the lease sign.”

“Don’t cha’ know it. I’d love to get inside and look around.”

I wandered around the side of the building, towards the back parking area. To call it a parking lot was rather grandiose. It could do. The ragged edges of what used to be a structured parking lot didn’t have any remaining striping. However, it was better than parking on a dirt or gravel lot. And there was plenty of room around the sides that could potentially have planting areas surrounding the old lot. Without the formal edges that many commercial spaces utilized for plantings, it could be a unique, rustic space, complementing the vision I had for my herb business.

Visions of having my herb and garden shop situated in a historic bank building filled my thoughts for the rest of the day. Every time Carla said something, I’d have to reel myself in back to the present and have her repeat whatever she’d said or asked.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Iris B
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 05:18:17

    Great snippet, Trisha!

    Reply

  2. mhsusannematthews
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 12:06:53

    I love the anticipation I can feel in this. You just know it has to work out for her.

    Reply

  3. Flossie Benton Rogers
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 15:25:35

    Great dialogue. I feel her excitement and can’t wait for her to get the building. I know a building shaped like this one and situated thusly and feel joy each time I go by it.

    Reply

  4. jeanjoachim
    Nov 18, 2015 @ 11:49:25

    I love the set up and going along with her as she observes and evaluates this place. Her plans for making it fit her dreams are wonderful.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Nov 18, 2015 @ 18:43:35

      Thanks Jean! I’d love to have this building myself. It’s a real place and its vacant again. So I’ll do the next best thing, I’ll just write it into my story.

      Reply

  5. Joselyn
    Nov 18, 2015 @ 15:03:28

    I think I’m excited as she is about the bank building. I love it when people renovate old buildings.

    Reply

  6. Vicki Locey
    Nov 18, 2015 @ 22:00:18

    What a wonderful snippet!

    Reply

  7. Author
    Nov 21, 2015 @ 23:03:17

    Great job, as always. AND I love that you used the word yeppers. I say that all the time and it made me smile. Jillian

    Reply

  8. Morgan K Wyatt
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 12:59:56

    Reminds me of an old bank building in my nearby town. It’s haunted by the ghost of a night watchman who keeps yanking the heat up. No business ever stays long. 😦 Can’t afford the electricity. I’m looking forward to finding out more about your bank building.

    Reply

  9. Sarah Cass
    Nov 24, 2015 @ 02:53:26

    Love the grandiose plans. How I often I get caught up in daydreaming like that. I hope she has good luck with renting it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
