A Second Chance – TT picture prompt

TT_bannerHere’s another snippet from A Second Chance, the prequel to My Wildest Dreams, the first book in A Growing Wings series.
In A Second Chance, Jenny suffered a sudden cardiac arrest and is grappling with a flurry of thoughts and emotions about it. This scene happens after Jenny eludes a coworker’s invitation to lunch and she escapes to one of her favorite lunchtime locations…the local cemetery.

This week we’re writing to a picture prompt. The scenes will be short, 300 words or less, so it will be quick reading. For more fascinating story snippets from the wonderful authors in the group, return to TUESDAY TALES here.

********

tt_sept 2015Something about this old, historic cemetery called to me. With hardly more than a handful of headstones, and just as many large rocks signifying a burial, it sat next to a new housing development of towering McMansions, fenced in but otherwise ignored.

I’ve loved visiting cemeteries for years, long before my cardiac arrest, so that’s not the reason. Cemeteries give me peace. Sitting there, trying to commune with lives past, is soothing to me. At one point in time, these people also walked this earth. They too lived and loved. They provided for a family, protected them, clothed them, they were a member of a community.

Maybe. They could also have been a traveler, a man out to see the world, without a place to call home, following the wind and a dream. Now, what’s left to commemorate their life is a headstone with a time-worn name etched in granite or stone. Sometimes only a half-buried rock or pile of rocks marks a place where a body was once buried. Many gravesites sprout trees or shrubs, sprouting from the place a body was once buried; a plant flourishing, taking nourishment from organic matter that the soul no longer requires.

Many people are cremated and have been scattered to the winds, the sea or the earth. No tangible monument marks the site of their final burial. Fifty or a hundred years from now, no one will stumble across a headstone, rock or tree, marking the site of their last earthly presence.

What memory of my life do I want to remain after I leave this cellular body?

What do I want to leave to the future besides a name etched on a granite stone?

A worthy answer eludes me.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Iris B
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 07:01:59

    Really? her favourite lunchtime location is the local cemetery ?? LOL … you’ve done it again, another great, thought-provoking post.

    Reply

  2. mhsusannematthews
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 11:47:45

    Having spent a hot Saturday morning at a burial this week,it’s the last place I’d choose for reflection over lunch. lol, That said, it sounds like a great place for thinking deep thoughts.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Sep 08, 2015 @ 22:31:41

      It’s always harder there, Susanne, when you’re saying goodbye to someone you know and love.

      Reply

      • mhsusannematthews
        Sep 08, 2015 @ 23:05:30

        It is. The person was my uncle, but it was nice to see the family. Sadly, my favorite aunt passed away in her sleep on Sunday night. I’m glad I got to speak to her on Saturday morning and hear how proud she was of me being an author. She was 94.

      • trishafaye
        Sep 09, 2015 @ 18:49:51

        I’m sorry to hear that Susanne. I’m glad you got to speak to your aunt before she passed.
        I understand the seeing family part. When my brother died, at age 35, I hadn’t seen my dad for over 10 years. No family problems, just as a young mother I didn’t have the money to go to Arkansas, and my dad didn’t have the money to visit CA. When we all got together for the funeral, it was sad, but also joyous, like a huge family reunion.
        Hugs to you in the loss of your beloved family members.

      • mhsusannematthews
        Sep 09, 2015 @ 21:34:38

        Thank you. The funeral is Saturday, exactly one week after my uncle. Rather ironic. I hope you get to see your father more often now.

  3. Vicki Locey
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 20:33:00

    What a great post! I can imagine one can certainly reflect well there.

    Reply

  4. jeanjoachim
    Sep 09, 2015 @ 01:18:52

    A very deep question you pose here. Looking forward to her answer. Great post!

    Reply

  5. Grace
    Sep 09, 2015 @ 18:53:52

    Oh, I like this. I relate to Jenny so much! My love affair with cemetaries began in high school, when my friend and I would ditch afternoon classes (shhhhh, still graduated with honors ;-)…) to go “ghost hunting”. To this day, when my husband and I are traveling, we love to wander through cemeteries – particularly those that have been around for awhile. I also can relate to her final question….what is the legacy that I want to leave when I am gone….

    Reply

  6. Flossie Benton Rogers
    Sep 09, 2015 @ 21:47:56

    I like her deep, universal ponderings and the setting in which she engages them.

    Reply

  7. Author
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 01:15:23

    Very awesome post. As a fellow lover of cemeteries and the peace they bring, I can totally relate. Jillian

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
