A: Attitude of Gratitude

It’s NANO time – National Novel Writing Month. This month in Tuesday Tales I’m taking a break from romance. Since I’ll be lucky to get to the 50,000 words I need by the end of the month, I’m doubling up and using this work for my Tuesday Tales prompts also. This week we’re writing to the prompt ‘stuffed’. It’s Thanksgiving week, so you may think my ‘stuffed’ will relate to a turkey dinner. No. Read on and you’ll find it used in a different manner.

My NANO work is a nonfiction, inspirational, tentatively titled: A BETTER LIFE: A TO Z. Today I’m sharing the A excerpt – ATTITUDE OF GRATITUDE. Which, relates to Thanksgiving also.

Enjoy, then head back to TUESDAY TALES here, for more story snippets from a creative group of writers.

****************************

A: Attitude of Gratitude

attitude1Have an attitude of gratitude? As in … appreciate what you have? Ouch! Couldn’t we start with an easier lesson to learn?

This is one of the hardest lessons. This small piece of advice, three little words, is contrary to our always-striving-for-more society. It seems to go against the grain of human nature. The mantra of current day USA seems to be ‘More! More! More!’

Our houses are never quite large enough. Our vehicles are never quite new enough. Or fancy enough. Or big enough.

And technology, oh my goodness, we can’t keep up with it. Savvy smart phones have an app for almost everything imaginable. E-readers; I’ll take one of every kind, thank you very much!) We need larger, faster computers. Digital cameras with mega chips hold more photos than we used to take in a year. Or two, or three.

More clothes and shoes over here please. A person can never have enough of those. Closets are stuffed with one of every color. One of every style. One for every perceived need – whether we’ll ever wear them or not isn’t the issue. After all, they were on sale, right?

Storage unit facilities proliferate our urban landscapes now, with thousands more going up as I write this. A large portion of the population now owns more “stuff” than they can fit in their house or garage.

With this explosion of material good and our access to the latest and greatest – are we any happier than before? Are our lives any better?

I’d venture to say no.

Now, don’t think that I’m totally opposed to all the new gadgets that have invaded our lives. They do have their place and are useful, at least most of them.

One icy, frozen 19 degree morning, as some mornings tend to get here in northern Texas, I headed to work. I almost made it. Kind of. Half way. Apparently my radiator had frozen. (So what does this born and raised southern California girl know about Texas winters?)

attitude2That morning I was very, very (did I say very?) thankful and appreciative of my, at that time, less than fancy, un-smart phone that enabled me to call the tow truck from the (semi) comfort of my car. Remember the “old days” when we’d break down, or run out of gas, and sometimes have to walk 2 to 3 miles looking for a working pay phone? Been there – done that. More than a few times.

Am I dating myself here? I hear the younger generation reading this, thinking – What’s a payphone? My boys are probably in that crowd too. I doubt they have any knowledge of the dreaded several mile walk. And then – you get to the payphone and don’t have any change. Or the party you’re trying to get ahold of isn’t home.

The problem lies, not in in technology or advances and changes in our world, but in always striving for something else – be it newer, bigger, fancier, or just plain different. We fail to appreciate what we DO have. We stop living with a sense of gratitude.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki Locey
    Nov 25, 2014 @ 10:55:07

    Great post and so true!

    Reply

  2. jeanjoachim
    Nov 25, 2014 @ 18:23:28

    I couldn’t agree with you more, Trisha. I am happy with what I have. The holidays are my time to think about how lucky I am and how little I need. When my kids ask me to make a Christmas list, I’m often at a loss. All I really want is more time with them and more experiences together. Too much stuff is a recipe for disaster. I’m anti-stuff and am working to declutter my house. I don’t buy anything unless I need it and I have a “dumb” phone and am perfectly content with it. People need to slow down their lives, their pursuit of stuff to stop and appreciate each other for a change. Life is too short to waste it on accumulating things instead of great memories. I’m stepping off my soapbox now. lol.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Nov 26, 2014 @ 21:35:36

      I totally agree with you Jean!! Shout from your soapbox all you want. On our final days, we won’t be wishing for more and better stuff – it will be for a few additional moments with our loved ones.

      Reply

  3. Flossie Benton Rogers
    Nov 25, 2014 @ 19:44:39

    A great post and one we can all take to heart. I enjoy being thankful for the simple things in my life that we take for granted when we only go through the day on automatic.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Nov 26, 2014 @ 21:36:53

      Thanks Flossie! And it’s so easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle and live life on automatic, forgetting how much we are blessed with.
      My Tuesday Tales friends, for one of a list of many.

      Reply

  4. Iris B
    Nov 26, 2014 @ 07:37:17

    I will need to leave it as “Another perfect post”, otherwise I’ll rant and rant about society and the greed amongst us …

    ♥ ♥ ♥

    Reply

  5. Sherry Gloag
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 21:24:25

    I agree with what you, and everyone else has said. Enjoyed your post.

    Reply

  6. Author
    Nov 29, 2014 @ 21:52:03

    great post and speaking of stuffed closets, I need to weed mine out for sure.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Romance Author Embraces Life & Living | Embracing Life Tribe

Leave a Reply

A to Z

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
