Out & About – Beauty in Nature

TT_bannerThis month in Tuesday Tales I’m taking a break from romance since it’s NANO time (National Novel Writing Month). Victoria and Toby, in Starting Over, will have to figure out their own way for a few weeks, without me handing them their script. We’ll be back to them when November ends.

My NANO work is a nonfiction, inspirational, tentatively titled: A BETTER LIFE: A TO Z. Today I’m sharing the ‘O’ excerpt – OUT AND ABOUT: BEAUTY IN NATURE.

This week we’re writing to a picture prompt. They snippets are short, only 300 words! Enjoy, then head back to TUESDAY TALES here, for more tales from a creative group of writers.

***************************

OUT AND ABOUT: BEAUTY IN NATURE

TT_December picture promptThe best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quiet, alone with the heavens, nature and God. Because only then does one feel that all is as it should be and that God wishes to see people happy, amidst the simple beauty of nature. I firmly believe that nature brings solace in all troubles.

— Anne Frank

Nature. Peace. Serenity. Health benefits. They are all linked.

Research is proving what many people have intuitively believed for years. Being outside and finding beauty in nature is good for our souls, our health and our mental well-being. Nature is good for us. Savoring the beauty of nature provides both long and short term mental and physical health benefits.

Are you feeling out of sorts? Stressed? On the edge and ready to snap? Go outside! Environmental Science and Technology (2010) reported that ‘just 5 minutes of activity in natural areas resulted in improvements in self-esteem and mood.’

You many reply, ‘But I live or work in the city. I don’t have the luxury to drive away or visit a nature preserve.’ You don’t need the country to find solace. Nature is more than wilderness, mountains, prairies and plains. Small community parks and green spaces in urban environments provide the same benefits. Instead of streams and lakes, look for urban spaces with fountains that give the sounds of peaceful, running water.

Give it a try. I challenge you. Five minutes a day. Or longer if you can. After all, if Anne Frank wrote that she felt being amidst the simple beauty of nature was the best remedy, how can we argue? Her troubles make my life look like a fairy tale.

I’ll meet you outdoors!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. morgan k Wyatt
    Nov 11, 2014 @ 02:25:49

    This is especially meaningful when you consider Anne trapped in the attic unable to go outside. She did watch a tree through a window as it changed through the seasons.

    Reply

  2. Flossie Benton Rogers
    Nov 11, 2014 @ 17:03:13

    Lovely post. I agree wholeheartedly.

    Reply

  3. Vicki Locey
    Nov 11, 2014 @ 20:40:31

    Lovely post!

    Reply

  4. Iris B
    Nov 12, 2014 @ 05:50:38

    Another beautiful post. And I agree, we often forget to enjoy simple pleasures!

    Reply

  5. jeanjoachim
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 16:03:48

    I agree completely. I do my best thinking walking in Central Park. I love being outside in the warm weather. It makes you feel more alive. Great post.

    Reply

  6. hiyacynthia
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 18:33:44

    I’m glad I stopped in to read this. I totally believe in this concept and have always loved my time in nature. Unfortunately, it is that very nature which causes allergies and gave me Lyme disease, but I still refuse to let those things keep me from nature because it’s that important to my soul 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A to Z

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
