CHECKLIST DAY

Tuesday, October 30th: Lists, lists and more lists; where would our lives be without them? Today is CHECKLIST DAY. What a strange day to celebrate, although I think I’m the queen of lists. My whole planner is filled with lists, so a day celebrating checklists caught my attention.

According to www.checklist.com, “On October 30, 1935, a Model 299 prototype for the Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress crashed during takeoff at Wright Field in Dayton, Ohio. The cause of the crash was identified as a gust lock that was still engaged.

After the mishap, a group of pilots looked for a way to prevent future ‘pilot error’ mishaps. They came up with checklists for takeoff, flight, before landing and after landing. Boeing delivered 12 of the aircraft to the Air Corps and they flew 1.8 million miles without a serious mishap.”

I feel certain people were making lists before that, because even Santa has a list and is checking it twice. I’m not in charge of any aircraft, but I’ll keep making my lists to keep my life in order. And, I’ll celebrate any chance I get, so … Happy Checklist Day!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: CHECKLIST DAY « Trisha Faye | Checklist
  2. utesmile
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 20:20:08

    Funny I love check lists, and do them so i don’t forget things which are important in a day!

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Nov 11, 2012 @ 18:41:55

      So true, they are so helpful, aren’t they?
      (Sorry for the late reply – between a week of a nasty head cold and participating in NaNoWriMo this month, I feel like I lost most of the past week, barely made it to work.)
      Have a wonderful week!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

A to Z

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
