MYSTERY SERIES WEEK

Friday, October 12th: Who? Whodunit? Celebrate MYSTERY SERIES WEEK. This is a celebration of continuing characters in mystery fiction. Two-thirds of all new mysteries each year feature a series detective. The series tradition has been alive and well for more than 100 years. Series readers today can choose from more than 20,000 adult mysteries featuring more than 4,000 continuing characters from living writers. (Wow! That’s a lot of characters!) Mystery Series Week celebrates fictional cops, private eyes and amateur sleuths from all walks of life—solving crimes from 55 BC to the 22nd century. The special celebration occurs annually, the first full week in October.

Memories of Nancy Drew, Sherlock Holmes, Miss Marple and Perry Mason run rampant through my mind. I don’t have any of those books in the house at the moment. But I do have my stack of China Bayles mysteries, my favorite herbal mystery series by Susan Wittig Albert . I’ll be curling up with one of these tonight to celebrate the week. Then, I foresee a trip to the library in my future, to reacquaint myself with Miss Marple.

What’s YOUR favorite mystery series?

Leave a Reply

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
