CELL PHONE COURTESY MONTH

Monday, July 9th: I need my soapbox for today. July is CELL PHONE COURTESY MONTH. Ever had a dinner or an evening ruined because of loud cell phone conversations? Ever had your movie interrupted by ringing cell phones and lit screens sprinkled throughout the seating? I work in retail and every day there’s at least one customer that can’t get off their phone long enough to let me know how much fabric they need cut. And the conversations carried on in the aisles; you’d never believe the intimate details we overhear, about medical results, financial dealings, relationship issues, substance abuse problems in the family, and more. It’s amazing. People seem to think if they don’t know you, you can’t hear their conversations. But my biggest, biggest pet peeve … cell phone conversations in the restroom. It’s astounding how many people walk in, continuing their conversation and go about their business, amidst all the flushing toilets and they don’t lose a breath.

Yesterday, we had lunch with a friend. His phone rang several times during the time we were visiting and enjoying a delicious pasta lunch. He glanced at his calls, and then let them go to voice mail. As we were leaving, he mentioned going to return his calls. I had to comment about him not taking calls throughout the several hours we were together. (Now, I realize that sometimes friends have young children still at home, sick relatives, waiting for a doctor to call back, or other instances where calls are important and need to be taken immediately.) But it was so refreshing to visit and enjoy someone’s company without fighting for their attention over the phone. We both felt respected and honored that our little bit of time together took precedence over incoming calls.

I admit that I used to talk on my phone throughout the store and even through the checkout. Until I was on the other side of the desk and realized how rude I was being to others. Now I hang up the phone before I enter the store or the post office. If I have to call home to check on an item, I make my call and hang up. Today, and the rest of the month, take a moment to think about our own cell phone use and if we’re being rude or inflicting our personal conversations into other people’s space. Maybe our own courteous phone use can ripple out, touching others also. (Okay, I’m retiring my soap box for the night!)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hiyacynthia
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 03:36:49

    I have to tell my kids’ friends all the time that they need to put their cell phones away when they are spending time with my kids. My kids complain that all their friends do is spend time on their phones and they feel ignored. People need better common courtesy rules taught to them.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Jul 10, 2012 @ 03:56:39

      Too true Cindy. We have a few (adult) friends that when we get together, THEY spend all night on their phones, updating statuses, texting … Heck, we’ve been at a restaurant w/several others and the husband and wife comment on their own FB statuses as they’re sitting next to each other!
      It seems so common for the younger ones too, they’re all together hanging out & they’re all on their phones or texting, not really spending time with each other.
      Good luck to your kids in this!

      Reply

  2. Cindy Brown (@hiyacynthia)
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 04:40:15

    This post of mine addresses that very thing! One of my first posts – don’t know if you were following then or not. http://bit.ly/NfyYfE

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 03:55:09

      I just discovered your fabulous blog in April, when I was doing the A to Z blog challenge. I’ll go check this out right now. Thanks for the link!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
