CHOCOLATE DAY

Saturday, July 7th: Twist my arm; twist my arm! It’s CHOCOLATE DAY and I’m ready to celebrate! And after the horrendous day I had at work today, I’m in DIRE NEED of a chocolate fix.

I went to see what my all time favorite doctor, Dr. Weil, said about chocolate. He reports that “Investigators at the NestléResearchCenterin Switzerlandfound that eating a little chocolate every day for two weeks reduces levels of stress hormones.” Okie-dokie, gotta do what the doctor orders, right? For Dr. Weil’s full report, see his blog here: http://www.drweilblog.com/home/2010/2/2/more-chocolate-less-stress.html

Dr. Weil also reports that “The latest news about chocolate – that it makes blood vessels more flexible – adds to accumulating evidence that chocolate offers a number of health benefits and may be good for the heart. Earlier findings had shown that chocolate contains polyphenols, the same kinds of antioxidants found in red wine and green tea; stearic acid, a type of fat that doesn’t raise cholesterol levels; and flavonoids, which reduce the stickiness of platelets, inhibiting blood clotting and reducing the danger of coronary artery blockages.” View the entire post at: http://www.drweil.com/drw/u/id/QAA347715

Now, I just need to find a great chocolate recipe to celebrate with. When in need of a great recipe, the first place I check is my favorite food blog, Months of Edible Celebrations. I was in luck. Louise just had an online picnic. Kit, of I Lost in Austen, brought these chocolate delights to the cyberspace gathering. http://i-lostinausten.blogspot.fr/2012/06/nougat-brownies.html (Photo from I-Lost in Austen blog … there’s more great pictures there, along with the recipe and photos of step-by-step directions.)

For a list of all the scrumptious goodies brought to the “picnic”, go take a look here: http://monthsofediblecelebrations.blogspot.com/

Happy celebrating; Happy Chocolate Day!

Leave a Reply

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
