NATIONAL PEANUT BUTTER COOKIE DAY

Tuesday, June 12th: Cooooookies … Today is NATIONAL PEANUT BUTTER COOKIE DAY. The peanut is such a versatile food. Peanut oil, peanut butter, salted and roasted.

Did you know …. It takes about 540 peanuts to make a 12-ounce jar of peanut butter? Or that there are enough peanuts in one acre to make 30,000 peanut butter sandwiches? (That’s A LOT of peanut butter sandwiches!)

I discovered another interesting piece of peanut trivia. Grand Saline, Texas (yea Texas!) holds the title for the world’s largest peanut butter and jelly sandwich, weighing in at 1,342 pounds. Grand Saline trumped Oklahoma City’s 900 pounds peanut butter and jelly sandwich in November 2010. Oklahoma City, Oklahoma had been the reigning champion since September 7, 2002.

For more fascinating peanut trivia, check out this fun site: http://www.nationalpeanutboard.org/classroom-funfacts.php

For over 170 peanut butter cookie recipes, go check out this great recipe resource: http://allrecipes.com/Recipes/Desserts/Cookies/Peanut-Butter-Cookies/

And on that note, I’m off to the kitchen. Peanut butter cookies; here I come!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hiyacynthia
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 18:52:58

    I feel like an outsider in my home because I’m not a peanut butter fan the way my husband and kids are. You wouldn’t believe how much PB they eat! I have never much cared for the cookies either, but I’ll eat the crap out of some Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups!

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Jun 15, 2012 @ 03:29:57

      How funny … me too! I could live the rest of my life without eating peanut butter (except to celebrate a holiday, of course), but you’re right, I could eat Reese’s PB Cups everyday!
      PS.. Checked my spam, you’re right. I hadd 33 spam comments and 5 were yours. Hopefully I got it fixed where your comments will get through now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

A to Z

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
