Kreative Blogger Award

Thank you Holly Michael! I got an award and get to post the lovely Kreative Blogger Award on my blog! Thank you Holly Michael, from the Writing Straight blog! Here is that lovely award:

Now part of receiving this wonderful award is that I continue on with this kindness and nominate 7 other blogs that I feel are deserving of this award.  After that I get to answer 10 questions about myself and then 10 random facts about me that you did not know! So here goes!

Seven nominees? I only get to pick seven? But, I have more than seven favorites. Now the hard work begins. I have to whittle my favorites list down to seven. (Again, thank you Holly Michael!) For a variety of reasons, and also to spotlight a variety of blogs that echo different facets of my blog life, I’ve chosen the following as my seven nominees:

Shelly Tucker and This Eclectic Life (http://thiseclecticlife.com/) definitely gets a nomination. I discovered Shelly’s blog long before I was blogging myself. I’d been transplanted in north Texas and with Shelly’s help I was discovered the joys and jewels of the small Texas towns surrounding me. I’ve since participated (alas, only a very little bit) for two years with Shelly’s Share-a-Square project. Shelly has collected squares, crocheted squares, and crocheted thousands of squares together to create hundreds of afghans to donate to children battling cancer. A storyteller extraordinaire, Shelly will be leading the Denton Haunts Ghost Tour in Denton Texas this summer.

Louise, from Months of Edible Celebrations (http://monthsofediblecelebrations.blogspot.com/) was one of my first supporters in the blogging world. I’d tentatively posted a few early ‘A Reason to Celebrate’ blogs (some featuring a food celebration) and Louise made it a point to stop by, comment and encourage. We’ve discovered over the course of the months that we have more in common than blogging about food celebrations; grandchildren we love to pieces, cookbooks and a love of nature. I’m always impressed by the research that Louise does, the recipes and old cookbooks she includes on her pages, and of course, the yummy dishes she prepares and posts.

Looking for unusual ways to celebrate life, it’s only natural that I’d admire Pam and her ‘Live Every Day Like a Holiday’ blog. (http://gonetapott.blogspot.com/) Pam says we should “Live every day like a holiday.” Be it good or bad. Sometimes you just have to eat it with a big spoon.” There are lots of fun and quirky holidays here; it’s always a good read.

My writing journey led me to the ‘She Writes’ group. WOW! What a tremendous support group; She Writes and the Late Bloomers subgroup. I discovered so many talented writers here. One blogger, Julie Farrar, writes ‘Traveling Through’ … the world, the second half of my life, and my own mind (http://www.traveling-through.com/) from the Midwest. Her goal is to keep moving in as many ways as she can until her time is up. Why don’t you join her?

Another blogger, from the other side of the planet – Wales, is Juliet Greenwood (http://julietgreenwoodauthor.wordpress.com/) Juliet writes, helps aspiring writers towards being published, and is a reader for the RNA’s ‘New Writer’s Scheme’. In her ‘spare time’, she works on local oral history projects, helping older people tell their stories before they are lost forever.

In April, I participated in the A to Z blogging challenge for the first time. What an awesome experience it was. Every day we blogged, starting with another letter of the alphabet. I matched the letter of the day with one of the daily celebrations, to coordinate with my ‘A Reason to Celebrate’ blog theme. For ‘M’, Moment of Laughter Day, I searched for humorous blogs to include as links with my post that day. One I found was Cindy Brown’s ‘Everyday Underwear’. (http://www.everydayunderwear.com/) On her page Cindy promises that “You’ll laugh, giggle, chuckle, cry, think or spontaneously burst into flames while reading. If that last thing happens, I am not liable. It’s good, bad, and ordinary days. It’s comfortable and made of good material. It’s like your everyday underwear.” If you want a good laugh, check out Everyday Underwear. You won’t be disappointed; it’s hilarious!

During the A to Z Blog Challenge, I found so many worthy blogs. This also is a supportive, encouraging group. If you’re a blogger, I encourage you to put next April on your calendar and plan to participate. It’s definitely worth the time and effort. One of the blogs I’m grateful to find is Cheryl’s Random Thoughts (http://cherylsrandomthoughts.blogspot.com/). Inspirational and uplifting; here’s a short excerpt from the last day ‘Z’:

A to Z Challenge: Zest: Don’t lose your zest for life. Find your passion. Find that thing that will keep you up at night (in a good way). Don’t let it die. Help others. Make that a priority. Whether it’s being a better parent or volunteering for a cherished cause. Reach out to others. It will keep you feeling alive. You will have purpose.”

Now, how can you go wrong with an outlook like that?

Now to answer my 10 questions:

1. What is your favorite song? Favorite SONG? I can’t pick a favorite music, let alone a single song. (Hey, I had trouble whittling my favorite blogs down a list of seven!) Here’s my favorite music mix: Take a large dose of rock (preferably classic rock), toss in a serving each of R&B, blues, bluegrass and jazz, add a dollop each of rap, salsa, Arabic-style and country (country rock please, nothing twangy) and toss well.

2. What is your favorite dessert? A Magnum Double Caramel Bar. If not available, any ice cream, chocolate or cheesecake will do.

3. What ticks you off? Here’s an easy one! Rude cell phone talkers. I work retail and everyday we have shoppers talking about the most intimate subjects while walking around the department. I guess they think if they don’t know you, you can’t hear their conversations. Then, we have to try to wait on them and help them with their needs; while they don’t have the courtesy to hang up the phone and can’t ask for help without the phone glued to their ear. But then … on a daily basis I’m amazed at the number of people that walk into the restroom continuing their conversation while conducting what I thought was ‘private’ business.

4. What do you do when you’re upset? Usually mull it over for a bit. Then see if I can do something about it and try to release it. (some times easier than others)

5. Which is/was your favorite pet? I’ve had lots of pets, from turtles to llamas and turkeys.Coco, my little toy poodle, is the one that stole my heart.

6. Which do you prefer, black or white? White, if I have to pick from these two. Although myself, I prefer colors over neutrals.

7. What is your biggest fear? Hmmm… not a lot of fears. Worries, but not really what I’d call fears.

8. What is your attitude mostly? I try to be optimistic and appreciative. (Some days don’t work out too well though!)

9. What is perfection? Nothing, on this earthly side.

10. What is your guilty pleasure? It’s a toss up between the Magnum Double Caramel bars mentioned above and reading much later than I should at night.

Ten random facts about me:

1. I’m a Southern California born and raised gal, now transplanted and living in northTexas. I have the best marriage and love where I’m at in life right now.

2. I have two great sons, Chris and Justin, and three marvelous grandchildren, Morgan, Cameron and Mark. (All listed oldest to youngest)

3. I like asymmetrical, not symmetry; yet strive for balance in my life. Go figure.

4. I love to travel and see new places.

5. Our furry, four-legged numbers are down to four dogs and nine cats. And one box turtle, Tessie.

6. I have more hobbies than I have time for: glass fusing, mosaics, weaving, dyeing, papermaking, paper crafting with tiny bits of crocheting, knitting, spinning and felting added in. That doesn’t count the gardening, geocaching reading or writing.

7. I should not be trusted with a library card. The stack just keeps getting bigger and bigger. (You know, take two of your five books back, and come home with four more new ones …)

8. I love nature.

9. I love water, it provides solace and healing. I prefer thePacific Ocean, but lakes are great too. Running streams and rivers work in a pinch.

10. I love sleep! (I had to borrow this one from Holly. It was perfect and I had to use it too. On that note, I’m off for a short nap!)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Brown
    May 27, 2012 @ 21:50:31

    Here you bestowed me with this great honor, telling people to visit my humor blog, and I have a really serious post up! People, I’m normally funny, but not always. Oddly enough, I will be having a few serious pieces hit in the future. But you know me, I’ve gotta laugh and I’ve gotta share that with everyone. Stay tuned next week for the funny to return!

    Thanks so much for bestowing this honor on me. Although I have received the award previously, I will be including a thank-you in my next Wednesday Woo-Hoo. I really appreciate the shout-out! :0)

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      May 28, 2012 @ 04:33:32

      I saw that Cindy, when I went to your blog to add the comment. So I went back to an older, humorous post to add the comment to. The other just didn’t seem an appropriate place. You definately were one I wanted to include, your blog (when not taking a more serious note) is hilarious.

      Reply

  2. katkasia
    May 28, 2012 @ 03:42:24

    Loved your list of 10 random facts about yourself! I can’t imagine living with four dogs and nine cats – one cat is quite enough for me. I agree with you on so many others: sleep, water, nature, too many hobbies, travel, and asymmetry. 🙂

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      May 28, 2012 @ 04:35:55

      Thanks Katkasia! Well… there’s days where I’d easily give away a few cats LOL All of them are rescues (or children of rescued pregnant ones). I think we have an invisible sign at the front of the house.

      Reply

  3. Gone-ta-pott.com (@gonetapott)
    May 28, 2012 @ 12:40:20

    What a really fun post 🙂 I was delighted to see you added me to your 7 list. Thank You! In fact I did a bouble-take when I was reading this morning. ha ha! “Is that me on the list?” giggle~ Each week I make your blog & Louise blog part of my daily read while having coffee. I just love it. I’m so crazy about holidays, food, crafts, the outdoors, gardening, water, and like you I have many pets. 16 beautiful rescued animals so your blog just draws me right in. Thanks again 🙂 I’m on my way now to visit your listed blogs before I have to start doing nips & tucks on my website. Have a wonderful Memorial Day.

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      May 29, 2012 @ 00:15:40

      Thanks! Glad to know you were surprised to see you were one of my 7. But totally well deserved!
      Yes, I love Louise’s too. I think that’s were I initially discovered yours. Love seeing her baby robins grow right now.
      Have a great day!!

      Reply

  4. Louise
    May 30, 2012 @ 13:30:56

    If this doesn’t feel like home week I don’t know what does! You are so sweet to bestow this Award on me Trisha but, I must confess, the best part is learning all these wonderful things about you and your life. You sure are one busy “chick” that keeps us abreast of all things worthy of celebrating and then some!!!

    Thank you so much I really appreciate it, Louise.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
