INTERNATIONAL TIARA DAY

Thursday, May 24th: I feel like a princess today. It’s INTERNATIONAL TIARA DAY, a day when anyone can wear a tiara and feel like royalty. First celebrated in 2005 in conjunction with Barbara Bellissimo’s Seasons of Success, the reins have now passed to Lyanne White of American Rose Bridal. Lyanne and her employees believed that anyone should be able to wear a tiara, not just brides. Tiaras … royalty … kingdoms … they’re all so closely related that Queen Victoria’s May 24th birthday was an appropriate choice.

I worked with a young college girl a few years back. On her birthday (20th, 21st, 22nd??) she wore a tiara to work all day. We all laughed when we saw her in the break room, thinking it was worn just for the momentary effect. It wasn’t. She said it was her birthday and it was her special day and she wore the tiara on the sales floor …. ALL day! At first I was a little surprised. Truthfully it just didn’t seem appropriate’ the gesture didn’t have one iota of professionalism. But now, I think about it a little differently. How refreshing to have the courage and the confidence to proudly wear a tiara in an unexpected setting. I claim that I look for ways to celebrate life, yet here was this young girl celebrating life and proudly proclaiming that she was special.

Mary Kate, this day is for you … and for all those brave enough to wear a tiara today. Happy Tiara Day!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dale Fournier
    May 25, 2012 @ 14:03:53

    oh no, I missed Internationl Tiara Day! Can we extend it into the weekend?

    Reply

  2. Louise
    May 25, 2012 @ 14:55:16

    Well, I will have to notify my 9 year old grand daughter of National Tiara Day. I’m sure she will be thrilled!!! Thanks for sharing, Trisha…

    I seem to remember Duckie from A Duck in her Pond sporting a tiara a few times on her blog:)

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      May 26, 2012 @ 03:54:37

      Louise, I think granddaughters are entitled to 365 tiara days a year.
      My curiosity is piqued, I’ll have to go check out Duckie now.
      Have a great Memorial Day weekend!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
