N’s celebration is for NATIONAL CARD & LETTER WRITING MONTH.

Monday, April 16th: C’mon, you can do it. I double dare ya! N’s celebration is for NATIONAL CARD & LETTER WRITING MONTH. This technological age, ruled by w-w-w, has efficiency reigning supreme. Texting, instant messaging, emails, twitter and Facebook status updates; the digital age has us expecting instant communication born of a new era.

“What a lot we lost when we stopped writing letters.
You can’t reread a phone call.”

~Liz Carpenter

An instant message or email is quick an efficient, but lacks the flavor and delight of a handwritten, postage stamped letter. Who does enjoy receiving an actual note in their mail box? Especially when the sender conveys personal sentiments, remembrances, or encouraging words, a letter can be a treasured surprise. A note or letter is something that can be pulled out and re-read time and time again.

What a wonderful thing is the mail, capable of conveying across continents a warm human hand-clasp.
~Author Unknown

April is National Card and Letter Writing Month. (Sponsored, of course, by the post office) I don’t mind spending forty-five cents to send a written piece of correspondence that is personal and tangible. Last month I was overdue in emailing a dear friend. I was so far behind, and had so much news to catch her up on; I sat down and wrote her a letter instead. And yes, it took a few days longer for her to receive, not mere minutes. But she was so surprised to get an actual letter that I got the nicest note back from her. It as worth the time and effort involved.

Letters are among the most significant memorial a person can leave behind them.
~Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Celebrate life and celebrate your loved ones and friendships. Send them a note and tell them that you love them. Add a mention about what you find special about them. What funny, or touching, memories do you have of them that you will always treasure? Celebrate the month by taking a few moments to sit down and write a note, address it and stick a stamp on it. I think you’ll be surprised – and pleased- about the reception it gets.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Arlee Bird
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 05:06:58

    You almost got me weepy. I just missed my daughter’s birthday. I guess I better not forget Mother’s Day. Letters and Cards and stuff received in the mail are so special. And stamps! I collect stamps and it would be said if we didn’t use stamps anymore. Email is handy for off the wall quick messages or things that need quick attention, but mail is like sending part of yourself.

    Lee
    An A to Z Co-Host
    Tossing It Out
    Try my networking experiment–see the letter N

    Reply

    • trishafaye
      Apr 17, 2012 @ 18:05:04

      Agreed Arlee. I have a drawer where I keep cards and letters and occasionally sit down and read through my drawer of memories.
      Happy late birthday to your daughter. I’m sure she’ll take a late birthday card too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
