B’s celebration is for BOOKS: It’s INTERNATIONAL CHILDREN’S BOOK DAY

Monday, April 2nd: B’s celebration is for BOOKS: It’s INTERNATIONAL CHILDREN’S BOOK DAY. Books, books, books – one can never have too many books. And, crazy as it might be, at 50+ years old, I still enjoy a good children’s book. Hmmm, maybe that’s why I read so many bedtimes’ books to my boys. Maybe it was more for me than for them. Celebrate the day. Sit down and read a children’s book with your child. No young ones at home? Then celebrate the day with a good story for yourself.

Some of my favorites are: Charlotte’s Web, James and the Giant Peach, all the Dr. Doolittle books, A Wrinkle in Time, Goodnight Moon, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, Harold and the Purple Crayon, Stone Soup, Corduroy … oh my, there’s so many. What are some of your favorite children’s books?

International Children’s Book Day has been celebrated on April 2nd since 1967, in honor of Hans Christian Anderson’s birthday. The theme for 2012 is “Once upon a time, there was a story that the whole world told.” View their website for more information: http://www.ibby.org/index.php?id=269

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katkasia
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 05:49:36

    I have to agree with you on both the Dahl’s and The Very Hungry Catepillar! I love reading kids books too – especially just before I go to bed when I’m very tired.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
