Credit where it’s due

My Sunday comes inching closer to ending the day. The clock says that a portion of the day remains, but the sky outside, dark at 6:30 pm begs to differ. I look around and see reminders of all I wanted to do today, sitting there still not completed. Working retail, I had a weekend of today; one day compared to the four day weekend many had.

There was so much I wanted to accomplish today: work on several various Christmas presents, wrapping soap I made earlier in the week, a little writing on some books that are behind my intended schedule, working on the ‘A Reason to … Celebrate …” for the upcoming week, grocery shopping, and possibly a little cleaning, organizing and sifting of my “piles” in between.

In the sorting and consolidating of three of my “piles”, I discovered something that I’d pulled out several weeks ago to look at. It’s a small paperback booklet called “More Be-good-to-yourself Therapy” by Cherry Hartman. I’ve been carrying it around with me through several moves since around 1993 or 1994.

I opened the booklet up, to a random page. Here’s what it said:

#12  When you have too much to do, don’t drain your energy by worrying about all that’s unfinished. Set priorities and give yourself credit for what you accomplish.”

It’s true. Too often we beat ourselves up for the unfinished projects and tasks, many of them imposed on us by ourselves. We seldom give ourselves credit for the many things we have accomplished.

Some days I find that I am overwhelmed with what I think I need to do. I’m so wiped out from a hectic week at work, that on a day off, instead of running full steam ahead checking things off my “to do” list, I find myself in a lazy mood. But sometimes that is what our bodies and minds need; some relaxation and non-activity. We need to realize that an occasional lazy day is also accomplishing something – it’s taking care of our body, mind and soul.

So for today, instead of worrying about the things that didn’t get completed, I will celebrate the day and celebrate life by saying, “Hooray!  Look at all the things I DID accomplish today!”

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Louise
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 21:40:40

    Here, Here! Trisha! I absolutely agree!

    Thanks for sharing and, Happy French Toast Day!

    Reply

  2. trishafaye
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 18:52:27

    You’re welcome Louise, always good to hear from you. You have such a delightful blog. A few days late to wish you Happy French Toast Day back. Gee, and now I’ve missed wishing you a Happy National Mousse Day also LOL
    Have a WONDERFUL week!

    Reply

  3. WesternWilson
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 15:04:46

    lovely post and I adore that sticker (??) in the photo! I need to get some!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A to Z

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
