A Pocket Full of Posies: Rosemary6

TT_bannerWelcome to TUESDAY TALES. This week we’re writing to the prompt ‘author’.

This WIP, A Pocket Full of Posies, features twelve diverse women navigating life’s obstacles on their very different journeys.

This segment continues with Rosemary, a single woman struggling to keep a small, independent animal shelter functioning, despite obstacles from county regulations and never having enough funds to meet all the needs. Three orphan kittens have just joined her growing furry community. Her friends, Nora and Steve, have come up with an idea for a fundraiser to get materials for modifications that need done to keep the County Inspector happy.

Return to TUESDAY TALES for more great story snippets.

**************************************

TT_brisketAn hour passed and not one of the three even realized it. Refills were made to their glasses until the pitcher was empty. No one seemed to notice. Ideas were flying, fast and furious. Some were discarded right away. Some were deemed worthy of future deliberation. And, many made it to the official ‘List of Ideas to Save the Shelter’.

Nora’s initial idea of a BBQ fundraiser topped the list as the most popular. It garnered the group’s votes as not only the easiest to implement and was possible of raising the most money, but it also sounded like the most fun.

“I’ll check with my guys tomorrow to see what Saturdays they’re available to play next month,” Steve said.

“Whatever date is the best for the band is the date we’ll run with,” Rosemary agreed.

Nora ran through the final selections they’d decided on for the menu. “The main dish will be Lisa’s smoked brisket, of course. I’m sure she’ll be happy to fire up the smoker to help us out. She loves making her brisket, and she loves the animals. It’s lucky that we’re all friends. Plus, we’ll have buns, baked beans, corn, and potato salad. We’ll follow with banana pudding and peach cobbler for dessert. I think a selection of three or four sodas is sufficient, along with sweet and unsweetened tea, and water.”

Rosemary doodled some circles on a corner of her legal pad. “Do you think people will be willing to pay $25 a ticket for this?”

“With all that good food and Steve’s band playing in the background? They’re getting a deal. I’m sure we’ll sell out,” Nora replied. “Oh, and don’t forget the raffle table. I know who I’m going to talk to for some great prizes. I think we can get a lot donated, and then the tickets for those goodies will be additional revenue. We’ll probably make as much on that as we will on the dinner.”

“The newspaper!” Rosemary’s pen flew across the yellow pad in front of her. “I’ll call my friend Kim tomorrow. She’s an author and I’m sure she’ll write something up that we can take to the paper to get the word out.”

“I’m going to check with some of my construction buddies and see about getting some supplies donated, too,” Steve added. “The more we get donated, the less we’ll have to buy, leaving you more money for foods and medicines.”

A grin spread across Rosemary’s face and the tension eased from her shoulders. “I like that idea.”

Nora grinned and briskly wiped her hands together. “After this, paper pusher Clyde can take those proper height fence posts and put them where fence posts don’t belong.” Everyone laughed and she and Steve rose to leave.

Rosemary hugged her friends. “I don’t know what I’d do without you. You’re really saving my hide on this one. I had no earthly idea how I was going to get all the things done that the County wants me to do. Of course, it won’t be done by next week like they want. I’ll call them tomorrow to see about getting an extension. Hopefully I can get a 60-day reprieve.”

“What else are they going to do?” Nora asked. “Shut you down? They don’t want to do that. The County doesn’t want to take care of the animals themselves. They’re already at full capacity at all of their shelters.”

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Iris B
    May 27, 2014 @ 02:09:30

    Lovely continuation of your story …. not so sure about the pic, though. What is it? :-)

    Reply

  2. Vicki Locey
    May 27, 2014 @ 11:18:29

    Mmm, that BBQ looks SO good. Great excerpt!

    Reply

  3. Sarah Cass
    May 27, 2014 @ 13:12:17

    Great ideas…having the band and a raffle. Love the way they’re getting this thing going!!

    Reply

  4. jeanjoachim
    May 27, 2014 @ 23:39:29

    They sure don’t want to take the animals themselves. I love the way you’re building a warm, supportive group. The event sounds great. Wish it wasn’t fiction and I could go!

    Reply

  5. alleemae
    May 28, 2014 @ 21:21:42

    I felt like I was also in the middle of their brainstorming session. I felt the excitement and hope. great TT

    Reply

  6. Stefan Ellery
    May 30, 2014 @ 17:35:20

    The description for the coming fundraiser made me hungry, good Job

    Reply

  7. morgan k wyatt
    Jun 01, 2014 @ 22:00:54

    What a great trio, but I have a feeling the 60-day extension might not be so easy to get.

    Reply

  8. Author
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 14:46:25

    okay, now I need some bbq! Great scene. I like the use of the prompt as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A to Z

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,641 other followers

