A to Z: ‘Z’ is for ZINNIA

Today is ‘Z’, the last day of the A to Z blog challenge. We made it through the month, Hooray!

I’ve been blogging about MEMORY GARDENS: botanical tributes to celebrate our loved ones. Most of my writing is about keeping memories alive, so a spring garden is a perfect match to celebrate loved ones memories. Thanks for following along through the month.

a2z_z

A to Z: ‘Z’ is for ZINNIA

Zinnias are my favorite memorial flower. They evoke memories of my brother every time I see them. He always loved growing zinnias. I remember a flower bed we had in Toledo, Ohio. He would have been in 4th grade then. There is still a picture or two floating around of him standing there so proud of his colorful crop. The last time I saw him, in August 1995, he was showing me around his property in Iowa – and again, was so proud of the bright zinnias gracing all of his walkways. Two weeks later he was gone. What I would do to be able to go back in time and spend another day with him, complementing him on his bountiful flowers and telling him how proud I was of him and what he had done with his life. But I can’t. So I just continue to grow my own zinnias, and think of him every time I see the bright shining petals reminding me of my love for my brother.

ZINNIA (Magenta) – Lasting Affection

ZINNIA (Mixed) – Thinking (or in memory) of an Absent Friend

ZINNA (Pink) – Lasting Affection

ZINNIA (Yellow) – Daily Remembrance

 

pat and zinnias Oct 2013 (2)Common Name:                      ZINNIA

Botanical Name:                      Zinnia

Height:                                    6” – 3’

USDA Hardiness Zone:          Zones 3-10

Sun requirements:                   Full sun

Water Needs:                           Moderate, don’t water overhead (subject to mildew in humid conditions)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tarkabarka
    May 01, 2014 @ 14:25:55

    This has been a wonderful theme, and I learned a lot from the flowers. Thank you! And congrats on finishing A to Z! :)

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Tales of colors
    MopDog – The crazy thing about Hungarians…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A to Z

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,800 other followers

